Newly refurbished and beautifully appointed with 3 ensuite twin bedrooms
Luxury and newly refurbished house (May 2017) in a quiet courtyard development. Beautifully appointed to the highest standard.
The house has a distinct homely feel. Whether you have been for a round of golf, long walk along the beach or simply a touch of shopping you will find the house extremely comfortable to come back to. You will also experience the impressive panoramic views of the famous Links Old Course and West Sands beach whilst also overlooking the Swilcan Bridge from the comfort of the couch in the lounge.
Ideally located only minutes walk to the centre of St Andrews where you will instantly be amongst the hustle and bustle of the shops, bars and restaurants. All parts of the university town are easily accessible by foot.
The house can accommodate 6 guests in 3 twin rooms, all with modern ensuite bathrooms. There is a large bright open plan kitchen, dining room and lounge area ideal for relaxing and taking in the views. Well appointed throughout, including a utility room with a washing machine and dryer. Parking is available for one car outside the property.
Deluxe bedding and towels are provided. Wifi is available throughout the house. Sky TV is available on the 55 inch television in the lounge and Freeview on the televisions in the bedrooms.
Par 72 / 6,049 metres. "The Home of Golf" - this is the accolade given not only to St. Andrews but also the Old Course in particular. The Old Course was designed by an unknown architect and is still today regarded as a masterpiece. Every golf pro worth his salt has at some time or other attempted to tame this course and many have tried and failed. During his first visit here in 1921 Bobby Jones scored 46 for the front nine of the Old Course! To survive on this course it is essential to find the right trajectory off the tee in order to take obstacles out of the game. On the "Road Hole" it is only possible to see half the fairway from the tee position and to make it even more difficult it is necessary to play over part of the grounds of the hotel. The green is protected from the front by a deep bunker and a high wall! The Old Course with its half-blind tee shots, thick heathland vegetation, hidden pot bunkers, and the always unpredictable weather is a special experience.
Par 71 / 5,963 metres. It is often said that if the New Course was not so close to the Old Course it would stand out a little more in the eyes of golfers and possibly even replace it in their hearts. Almost in the shadow of its famous neighbour, the New Course is St. Andrews's best kept secret. Opened in April 1895, the course was constructed in response to the increasing popularity of golf. The course was financed by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club, who contracted Mr. Hall Blyth, a civil engineer from Edinburgh, with its construction and entrusted Old Tom Morris with its layout. The result is a classic links course that presents a challenge to any golfer. The New Course has the traditional layout (nine holes out and nine holes in), so that the 18th green is directly to the right of the tee position for the first hole. Following the St. Andrews tradition, the course has several "shared fairways" and double greens at the third and 15th.
Par 72 / 6,333 metres. This course was Sam Torrance's first run-out as a golf course designer and he himself describes it as a "Scottish seaside course", rather than a links course, with its uneven fairways consisting of perennial grasses and interspersed with gorse. Historical walls and green cliff faces, as well as breathtaking views over the ocean at St. Andrews as far as Carnoustie, lend the course an added allure. The Torrance course is completely open to the elements, and on the exposed headland golfers must be willing to cope with the prevailing weather conditions. The most challenging holes are the 14th, 15th and 17th. The clubhouse at the Torrance is set high on the cliffs, and from here there are wonderful panoramic views over the course and the ocean. The Torrance was reopened on 14th July 2009 after extensive renovation and has subsequently played host to the Cleveland/Srixon Scottish Senior Open.
Par 72 / 6,068 metres. The Jubilee Course received its name due to the fact that it was first opened in 1897, the Diamond Jubilee year of Queen Victoria. At its opening the "Jubilee Fountain" was unveiled and the first tee-off shot was played by a lady with a club crafted by Old Tom Morris. Originally a 12-hole course, it has today evolved into what many golfers consider to be the most difficult golf course at St. Andrews. Constructed on a narrow strip of land between The New Course and the sea, the course was originally intended to be a course for ladies and beginners. In 1905 the Jubilee course was expanded to 18 holes and further improvements were carried out between 1938 and 1946. The course was redesigned to championship standard in 1988 by Donald Steel. The tee boxes were elevated, not only giving wonderful views of the links but also subjecting golfers playing the course to the constant winds streaming in from the bay.